I have heard so many parents tell their children that they can’t wait until they turn 18 whenever they do something bad. Well, what if your son turns 18 & rapes a 7-year old girl? Some parents would disown him & let them handle the situation by themselves. For those parents who think that 18 is the magic number, you better be glad that you don’t live in South Korea! Here in America, parents do get fined for their teenager’s screwups. But, it’s not as huge as $60,000 buckaroos! Here’s more from BBC News:
“ South Korean court has fined the parents of a teenage rapist more than $60,000 (£40,000) for failing to supervise their son.
The 18-year-old, who has attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, raped a local seven-year-old girl in 2006.
The court said the boy had grown up watching pornography and had imitated a film he had seen, during the attack.
It said his parents could have prevented the crime with appropriate education, but neglected their duty.
The teenager is serving a 10-year sentence for the rape, but a court in Seoul ruled that his parents were also liable for his crime.
A court statement said: “The parents could have prevented the crime with appropriate education but failed to show enough attention to their child.
“They neglected their duty to raise their child so that he can properly adjust to society.”
The girl’s parents were seeking 225m won ($165,000; £111,000) in damages. “(End of Excerpt) Read the whole article here:(http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/7782245.stm
Here’s a breakdown of parental liability from the San Diego Police Dept.:
“In addition to the liabilities mentioned above, parents or guardians are legally liable in various ways for the acts of their children. These are additional reasons for parents to deal with their child’s behavior before it results in criminal acts.
- Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor. Parents or legal guardians who fail in their legal duty to exercise reasonable care, supervision, protection, and control over their minor children can be charged with contributing to the delinquency of a minor, a misdemeanor punishable by one year in jail and/or a $2,500 fine per count. In October 1995 the City Attorney started a new Parenting Project to help correct this situation. It gives parents of first-time juvenile offenders a choice — participate in a parenting education program or face criminal prosecution.
- Liability for Restitution, Fines, and Penalties. Starting on January 1, 1996 the California Welfare and Institutions Code will allow judges to order parents or guardians to pay up to $25,000 to cover losses suffered by the victims of crimes committed by their minor children, and other fines and penalties that may be assessed against the minor. Furthermore, the future earning power of the parent, guardian, and minor can be considered in setting these liabilities.
- Liability for Civil Damages. Under the California Civil Code parents or guardians are liable for civil damages of up to $25,000 for any act of willful misconduct of a minor in their custody and control that results in injury or death to another person or in any injury to the property of another.
- Civil Liability for Injury Caused by Firearms. The California Civil Code makes parents or guardians liable for injuries caused by the discharge of a firearm by a minor in their custody and control, where the minor was permitted to have the firearm or the firearm was left in a place accessible to the minor. Damages are limited to $30,000 for injury to or death of one person, or $60,000 for all persons in a single occurrence. “(End of Excerpt) Read the rest here: http://www.sandiego.gov/police/prevention/exercisingauthority.shtml#parental